Sankar\’s blog…

Just another blog

  • Categories

  • Archives

Building a new machine

Posted by Sankar on November 27, 2006


I was planning to build a new PC for a while now, but wanted to wait untile we moved to the new place. I have other uses for my existing PC and hence wanted to setup a new one. So this saturday, I went and got the components for building a new PC. As usual, it took me about 3 hours to go in and come out of Ritchie St. For those who are not familiar, Ritchie St is the electronics market of Chennai. It is T.Nagar’s equivalent for Computers and Computer related components. You go in and it will take atleast a couple of hours even if you buy just 1 product…

The component selection might come as a surprise for few… Anyway, these are the stuff I got.

  • Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
  • Intel motherboard with P965 chipset.
  • nVidia 6600 GT 128 MB graphics card.
  • 1 GB (2X512) RAM
  • 160GB SATA HDD

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300:

I have been a long fan of AMD and I am still one. but as of now, everyone will definitely agree that Intel’s Core 2 Duo lineup is definitely better than AMD’s X2. Even though I got the entry level Core 2 Duo processor, it beats the mid-range AMD X2 processors. Please note that all these comparisons are based on various reviews that I read in sites like TomsHardware and other tech sites. I still haven’t run any benchmarks (and I doubt if I will run any).

So even though the Intel’s offering was a little expensive over the entry level AMD X2 3600+, I decided to go with the Core 2 Duo.

Intel motherboard with P965 chipset:

P965 chipset was introduced specifically for Core 2 Duo processors even though it supports other processor lines. There were about 3-4 boards based on the P965 chipset. But the Intel board that I got was on the lower end, but it has most of the features. Integrated LAN, Sound, VGA, USB and Firewire ports too. It has 4 DIMM slots which might come in handy in future.

nVidia GeForce 6600 GT:

This is relatively an old chipset and there are much better ones these days. But the cost here in India for even thse old chipsets are way too expensive. But I hope that I can play games in this card for atleast a year from now.

1 GB RAM and 160 GB SATA drive:

1GB RAM and 160 GB HDD has pretty much become the norm these days. It is also interesting that the board that I got has just 1 PATA slot which will be used by your DVD writer or any other optical drive. The days of having Primary and Secondary slots are gone. I hope to add more RAM very soon and I am sure “if” I get back to my old gaming days, I will definitely require it.

I wish the new PC sets up nice and fine. Been a long time since I did some gaming. The video card in the old system conked off a few months back and ever since I kept postponing getting a new card because building a new system was on the cards.

I have planned to use my other components like the Antec Case and PSU, monitor etc. I will be using the components from my old PC to setup another one…But that’s a little later.

4 Responses to “Building a new machine”

  1. ShivA said

    Congratulations! it was abt time you built that system 😉 oh and by the way take a look at the new crytek game coming out…i will need all the horsepower I can get for that 😛

  2. ShivA said

    and dude are you sure 160 gig is enough 😐 ?I ran out of space with my you know what capacity before thanksgiving 😦

  3. I know 160 gigs won’t be enough. My existing PC itself has a 160 gig and that is almost full. I would copy the entire data in this new hdd also. But I will be getting another 160 gig soon… i just wanted to get the system up and running and get the old data onto here… additions can happen even later.

  4. […] Since I have built a new PC now, I directly installed Vista. Didn’t even try XP. And the results have been great so far. It takes a little time to get used to, but after that things go smoothly. There have been countless reviews of RC1 and even the RTM version. So I am not going to reiterate. But I noticed a couple of annoying stuff (like the screen getting blanked out for a second when asking for the admin password when tring to install something and then coming back again)… It is little bit annoying. I hope this was fixed in RTM. Another thing was frequent UAC warning. I read somewhere that this has been toned down a little bit in RTM. […]

Leave a Reply

 
