Sankar\’s blog…

Just another blog

  • Categories

  • Archives

Dish Network DVR – Review

Posted by Sankar on February 26, 2007


I had the Dish Network installed at home right after I came here. One reason: Sun TV and K TV. That’s  the only source of some tamil channels out here. I am not going to talk about that here. I am going to talk about the Dish Network DVR.

DVRs has been in use for a few years now. If I am right, I think it all started with TiVo. I have just started using the DVR and hence I am writing about it now. The fact of the matter is that once you get used to recording the programmes and viewing them at a later time – all by pressing a couple of buttons in the remote, it is very difficult to go back to the past. Now I know how companies like TiVo make money.

I am not sure to call this post as a review of the DISH DVR as the product has been out for a while, but these are just my thoughts. The features are so convenient that you will like it. 🙂

  • Going out potentially missing out on a good movie/program? Just schedule the recording.
  • Two good programs at the same time – just record one while watching another.
  • Don’t want to spend 3 hours watching a 2 hour movie… just record and watch at a later time and skip the commercials.
  • The DVR that you get from Dish gives you 100 hr storage. This is more than sufficient for recording programmes temporarily until you watch it and delete.
  • And best of all, it is so easy and straight forward to use.

What I don’t like:  😦

  • There is no (straight forward) way to take the recordings out of the DVR onto your PC or other device, which I feel is very bad. Think of it similar to a VCR. If I have a VCR and I record some TV program, I can go ahead and transfer the content. I feel that the DVR also should work the same way. 
  • You have to shell out an additional $6.00 ($5.98 I think to be exact) to use the DVR… I think that’s part of the game. Can’t help it.

But if you are on Dish Network or DirecTV (even they have an equivalent service) or any other digital cable, go for the DVR. It is really worth it.

3 Responses to “Dish Network DVR – Review”

  1. sanjay said

    Precisely why the Media Center Edition rocks! There’s no monthly fee and you can transfer recorded video to your portable media center ( creative zen, toshiba gigabeat, zune etc.)

    I had the comcast DVR for a while. 11 bucks a month for the service and the box was lousy. Bugs everywhere! I heard comcast has teamed up with Tivo for the software now. Soon all comcast DVRs will have the TiVO interface.

  2. TiVo Crazy said

    I think the ‘likes’ regarding DVR outweigh the ‘don’t likes.’ The negatives can be fixed through hacking tips all over the internet.

  3. Ami Roberts said

    Hi,

    I just visited your blog at “https://vsankarv.wordpress.com/2007/02/26/dish-network-dvr-review/” and found an interesting one for content link exchange with my website and blogs. As your blog is relevant with mine so it would beneficial for both of us and in this way we can also increase our back links. If you also find it suitable then please let me know at- ami.roberts86@gmail.com

    Thanks,
    Ami Roberts

Leave a Reply

 
